Silver coin to mark the centenary of the self-government constitution of 1921

A silver numismatic coin marking the centenary of the Self-Government Constitution of 1921 is due to be issued shortly by the Central Bank.

A coin will be presented by the bank’s governor, Edward Scicluna, to President Anġlu Farrugia at the end of a symposium held in Parliament to mark the anniversary on Friday.

On April 30, 1921, hundreds of Maltese gathered in Valletta to witness the debates related to the enactment of the new Constitution, which gave responsibility to the Maltese government.

The Constitution established a diarchy through which an elected Maltese government was responsible for local affairs, while the Imperial government was responsible for “reserved matters” which included defense and foreign policy.

Elections were held in October 1921 and the first Maltese Parliament was inaugurated by Edward, Prince of Wales, on November 1, 1921.

The Maltese experience of self-government was short-lived, as the Constitution was withdrawn in 1936.

Nonetheless, this paved the way for further constitutional development, which resulted in Malta’s political independence from Great Britain in 1964.

Only 1,500 coins were issued, with a face value of € 10.

They were struck by the Royal Dutch Mint.

Each coin is minted in 0.925 silver, weighs 28.28g, diameter 38.61mm and is proof finished.

The pieces were designed and engraved by Noel Galea Bason. The obverse of the coins features the coat of arms of Malta, while the reverse shows Melita, an allegory of Malta.

The coins, which will be sold for € 65, can be purchased at the Malta Coin Center online store from Friday at 3 p.m. and at the Malta Coin Center counter at the premises of the Central Bank of Malta in Castille Place, Valletta. , as from Monday at 8:30 am.

Independent journalism costs money. Times of Malta support for the price of a coffee.

Support us

Teresa R. Cabrera

The author Teresa R. Cabrera